TAB Origin Jockeys arrive, QLD rides for National Jockeys Trust

Rivalries have been re-ignited ahead of the fourth TAB Origin Jockey Series hosted by Racing Queensland on Friday and Saturday at the Brisbane Racing Club, Doomben. 

The series provides another opportunity to showcase Queensland’s racing to a national audience during the 2018 TAB Queensland Summer Racing Carnival, while giving the jockeys a unique chance to do battle head-to-head. 

Jockeys warmed up for the series with a Go Kart Challenge at Slideways, Eagle Farm, on Thursday afternoon, where they were shown the ropes by former racing car driver and jockey manager, Cameron Partington. 

They were also taken on by Sky Racing’s Bernadette Cooper and series ambassador, defending champion Clare Lindop, who wore the National Jockeys Trust Colours for a special cause. 

“Racing Queensland and series sponsors Tabcorp have generously agreed to donate $500 for every point Queensland scores in the series to the National Jockeys Trust,” Ms Lindop said. 

The NJT has been assisting jockeys and their families since 2004 and is a charitable trust dedicated to providing funds and other benefits for the relief or financial difficulties jockeys may face.

Tabcorp’s Head of Wagering in Queensland Sean Scott said: “We are really excited to not only sponsor the Origin Jockey Series, but to also donate an additional $500 for each Queensland point scored.”

“We have a strong history supporting the National Jockeys Trust so there was no hesitation to get on board this campaign. Hopefully we will see plenty of Queensland success during the Series!”

Queensland veteran Jim Byrne said the partnership would give he and teammate Matthew McGillivray even more incentive to try and claim the series for the first time. 

“We’ll be trying our hearts out to win this series for Queensland and knowing we’ll be doing it in support of the NJT will ensure we’ll just try that little bit harder,” he said. 

The series comprises five heats starting with the popular Doomben twilight meeting on Friday afternoon (3 heats) and concluding on Listed Brisbane Handicap Day (2 heats) on Saturday. 

The 2017 series was won by Victorian pairing Luke Nolen – who returns in 2018 – and Lindop, who is replaced by Melbourne Cup-winning jockey Brett Prebble.