Ed Player and Philip Newton join British EBF Trustees

British Horseracing’s most active sponsor, the British EBF, welcomed the appointment of two new Trustees to its board this month.

Whatton Manor Stud’s Ed Player joins the British EBF Trustees, alongside being a committee member at Nottingham Racecourse. After 8 years at Schroders Investment Management in London, Ed returned to his passion of racing and joined the family run Whatton Manor Stud. 

Over the last 20 years, Ed has helped oversee a significant expansion in the acreage of Whatton Manor, leading to a similar increase in the broodmare band. He has also started a successful pinhooking operation selling Gr.1 winners STATE OF REST and GLORIOUS EMPIRE. 

He is joined by TBA Chairman Philp Newton. Philip first joined the TBA board as a trustee in 2016. His commercial career was as a PLC CEO in the Retail sector as well as holding a number of other non-executive roles. He has been an owner breeder for over 40 years with Group and Royal Ascot successes and some NH success as well. He currently owns three broodmares and races all his produce.

Leaving the Trusteeship after their successful terms are Julian Richmond Watson and Fiona Denniff. British EBF Chairman, Simon Sweeting welcomed the new members of the board and thanked the outgoing Trustees for their support:

"Julian and Fiona have brought valuable perspectives and skills to the British EBF. With both being owner breeders and heavily involved in bloodstock industry matters over the years, their input and guidance has been invaluable. On behalf of the Trustees, I thank them for representing the British EBF over the last six years.
"We are delighted to welcome both Ed and Philip and look forward to the new dynamic this will bring to the board."

The British EBF is funded by British stallion studs and contributes £2,000,000 to racing’s prize money in 2024 across its Flat and National Hunt programmes. Founded in 1983, the British EBF supports races at every course in Great Britain.

British EBF Trustees 2024:

Simon Sweeting (Chairman)
Emma Berry (Independent)
Sam Bullard (Darley Stallions)
Julian Dollar (Newsells Park Stud)
Ed Harper (Whitsbury Manor Stud)
Shane Horan (Juddmonte Farms)
Gary Middlebrook (Independent)
Philip Newton (TBA representative)
Ed Player (Independent)
Claire Sheppard (TBA representative)
Chris Wall (Independent)