Yibir on Derby trail for Charlie Appleby in Thursday's Dee Stakes at Chester

Yibir will face six rivals in the Listed tote+ Biggest Dividends At Dee Stakes (2.15) at Chester on Thursday as he bids to enhance his Cazoo Derby credentials and build on a fine spring of Classic trials for Charlie Appleby.

Godolphin's three-year-old son of Dubawi finished third in Sandown's Classic Trial last month, three-quarters of a length behind winner Alenquer, and is a 25-1 chance for the Derby.

Kris Kin is the last horse to win the Dee Stakes and the Derby in 2003, although Cliffs Of Moher went close for Aidan O'Brien in 2017 when second at Epsom to stablemate Wings Of Eagles.

O'Brien has won six of the last eight Dee Stakes and relies upon Ontario, a 50-1 chance for the Derby, after he finished third in last month's Free Handicap at Newmarket.

Earlswood, El Drama, Foxes Tales, Luther Cee and Maximal complete the seven-runner field for the 1m2½f race.

O'Brien's team for Chester on Wednesday was depleted on Tuesday morning, with two of his three runners for the Group 3 Chester Vase Stakes scratched.

Favourite Sir Lamorak and outsider San Martino, were taken out due to the going, which is good to soft after 26mm at the track in the last 24 hours. O'Brien is still set to be represented in the race by Sandhurst.

The Group 3 tote+ Pays You More At Ormonde Stakes (3.15), is the other feature on the second day of the Boodles May festival with Japan and Trueshan set to do battle.

Trueshan progressed through the staying ranks last season for Alan King, culminating in a dominant win in the Long Distance Cup on Qipco British Champions Day for Hollie Doyle. 

The five-year-old is a general 10-1 chance for next month's Ascot Gold Cup, a price which is likely to shorten if he defies a penalty to beat his seven rivals.

They are led by 2019 Juddmonte International and Grand Prix de Paris winner Japan, who will race beyond 1m4f for the first time.

Euchen Glen, Morando, who won the Ormonde in 2019 and the Johnny Murtagh-trained Sonnyboylisten also feature.

Dee Stakes final field
1 Earlswood rider to be confirmed
2 El Drama Andrea Atzeni
3 Foxes Tales Silvestre de Sousa
4 Luther Cee John Egan
5 Maximal Richard Kingscote
6 Ontario Ryan Moore
7 Yibir William Buick