Shortlists announced for 2022 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards

Shortlists for the 2022 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards have been revealed after nominations were received from across the racing and breeding industries.

The shortlists for the six awards – the David Nicholson newcomer, leadership, rider or groom, stud staff, dedication and the community award in memory of Rory MacDonald – have whittled down the nominations to 60, with ten members of racing's workforce in contention for each award.

The judging panel, comprising 12 people from across the industry, will work through each shortlist to name three finalists in each category, which will be announced in the New Year prior to judging day for the finalists on Tuesday, February 21. The winners will be announced during a ceremony on the same day.

Now in their 18th year, the awards recognise and reward the skills, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff in England, Scotland and Wales.

Prize-money totalling £128,500 is on offer for the 2022 awards sponsored by Godolphin and run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post and Racing TV. 

Up to £30,000 is available to a single yard or stud in prize-money, while those who are shortlisted but not named finalists in each category will receive £250 in recognition of the achievement of being shortlisted.

The full list of nominees and their employers are:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Walter Fisher-Barnett – Paul Nicholls Racing
Ella Garland – Nick Gifford Racing
Jessica Barraclough – Jedd O'Keeffe Racing Ltd
Casey Finlay – Katie Scott
Lena Roccor – Hazelwood Bloodstock Ltd
Lorena Walsh – Lucinda Russell
Gina Gibson – Gary Moore
Jade Stewart – Nicholas Alexander
Elouise O'Hart – Ed Walker
Debbie Brodie – Godolphin Management Co Ltd


Timothy Hogg – Jedd O'Keeffe Racing Ltd
Mark Billingham – Johnston Racing Ltd
Dave Kent – Brian Meehan
Aideen Marshall – James Ferguson
Kevin Brown – Fergal O'Brien/O'Brien McPherson Racing
Tom Ashley – John Gosden Ltd
Charlie Morlock – Nicky Henderson
Tom Messenger – Dan Skelton
Rebecca Struve – North Farm Stud
Jack Steels – Ed Walker


Paddy Trainor – Johnston Racing Ltd
Christina Berry – Grace Harris
Emma Tully – Susan Corbett – Girsonfield Stud & Racing
John Nicholson – Johnston Racing Ltd
Will Hodkinson – Kim Bailey Racing
Riyaz Patel – Stuart Williams
Benario (Ben) Goncalves de Paiva – John Gosden Racing Ltd
Emma Dunkley – Rose Dobbin
Callum Pittendreigh – Richard Fahey Racing
Wieslaw Filipowicz – Ed Walker

Stud Staff

Jack Conroy – Chasemore Farm
Noel Challinor – Northmore Stud
Rhiannon Firman – Aislabie Stud
Balazs Karoly Sipos – Hascombe And Valiant Stud
Fiona McGlone – Hascombe And Valiant Stud
Lucy Steel – Culworth Grounds Farm
Dianne Best – Cobhall Court Stud
Philippa Reynolds – Salcey Forest Stud
Dulcie West – North Farm Stud
Richard Heaynes-Corrick – Chapel Stud


Sarah Peacock – Tom George
Volodtmyr Stepanyuk – Nick Gifford Racing
Joanna Cody-Boutcher – Philip Hobbs
Simon White – Henry Daly
Nicola (Nikki) Hazell – Jedd O'Keeffe Racing Ltd
Harvey Ewart – Johnston Racing Ltd
Karen Latchford – Simon Dow
Alyson West – James Ferguson
Simon Olley – Philip Kirby
Katrina Stanhope-White – Emma Lavelle Racing

Community (In recognition of the wonderful work Rory MacDonald achieved at The British Racing School)

Rosie Margarson – European Bloodstock News
Helen Wilson – Racing Welfare
Andrew Braithwaite – British Racing School
Clare Hill – Injured Jockeys Fund
Freedom Zampaladus – Urban Equestrian Academy
Margo Walsh – The Jockey Club
Jennifer Gates – Racing Welfare
Tallulah Lewis – UK Tote Group
Kevin and Pam Atkinson – New Beginnings
Carrie Ford – Racing To School