Confirmed runners and riders for Saturday's Vertem Futurity Trophy Stakes

A field of nine will do battle for the final British Group 1 of the season, the Vertem Futurity Trophy Stakes at Doncaster.

The last three winners of the race have all gone on to win the 2,000 Guineas the following season, with Aidan O'Brien saddling two of those winners.

From seven entries, O'Brien has whittled his team down to just one runner, Dewhurst runner-up Wembley.

Wembley was considered by many an eyecatcher, coming from well off the pace to take second at Newmarket last time, and will be ridden by Ryan Moore.

Andrew Balding, who won the Vertem last year with Kameko, relies on two-race maiden King Vega, while Autumn Stakes winner One Ruler will represent Charlie Appleby.

Conditions were described as good to soft, soft in places at Doncaster on Thursday.

Following declarations, Wembley is the 2-1 favourite with One Ruler next at 5-2 then King Vega at 11-2.

Ladbrokes spokesman Jon Lees said: "It looks like a straight shoot-out between Ballydoyle and Godolphin for the final Group 1 of the season in Britain with the normally multiply-represented Aidan O'Brien relying solely on Wembley to take on One Ruler. That could be a tip in itself."

At Cheltenham, Ryanair hero Frodon has been declared for the Matchbook Betting Exchange Handicap Chase, while Grade 1-winning hurdler Allmankind will also be in action on a fascinating card.

Vertem Futurity Trophy Stakes runners and riders
Baradar Rossa Ryan
Cobh Adam Kirby
Emperor Supreme Barry McHugh
King Vega Oisin Murphy
Mac Swiney Kevin Manning
Megallan Robert Havlin
One Ruler William Buick
State Of Rest Tom Marquand
Wembley Ryan Moore