Confirmed runners and riders for Saturday's Ayr Gold Cup

Koropick, who retired to stud in 2017, covering a handful of mares, has a humongous 1,093-day absence to overcome if he is to make a winning return to the track in the QTS Ayr Gold Cup on Saturday.

A maximum field of 25 was declared for Ayr's biggest Flat race on Thursday morning and they included the six-year-old Koropick, who is now in training with Colin Teague.

A son of Kodiac, he was a useful sprinter for Hugo Palmer and Vefa Ibrahim Araci, and provided jockey Josephine Gordon with her first Group success in the 2017 Chipchase Stakes at Newcastle.

Ayr Gold Cup card and betting

The colt was then transferred to Annshoon Stud in County Kilkenny for his second career before being switched to Hedgeholme Stud near Darlington.

"He came to us last year after standing in Ireland and covered a small number of mares," said Hedgeholme's Andrew Spalding, whose operation stands Portamento and Intrinsic.

"At the start of this year, I had very little interest in him and suggested the owners find somewhere else to stand him. With lockdown coming, there was even less interest in him, so he was sold and is now in training, having been castrated, with Colin Teague."

Royston Ffrench takes the ride on Koropick, who faces fancied rivals Mr Lupton, Nahaarr, Bielsa, Stone Of Destiny and Staxton.

Danzeno, who was prominent in the ante-post market, was not declared, while Aplomb and King's Lynn missed the cut so run in the consolation race, the QTS Ayr Silver Cup, on Saturday's card.

Ayr Gold Cup runners and riders

Gulliver Jason Hart
Kynren William Carver
Major Jumbo Megan Nicholls
Hey Jonesy Kevin Stott
Lahore Rowan Scott
Mr Lupton Billy Garritty
Barbill Franny Norton
Nahaarr Tom Marquand
Bielsa Tom Eaves
Wise Counsel Daniel Tudhope
Koropick Royston Ffrench
Spanish City Ray Dawson
Soldier's Minute Callum Rodriguez
Stone Of Destiny Oisin Murphy
Air Raid Jack Garritty
Another Batt Connor Beasley
Rayong Ben Curtis
Young Fire Shane Gray
Cold Stare Paul Mulrennan
Gabrial The Wire Paul Hanagan
Bungee Jump Richard Kingscote
Arecibo Andrea Atzeni
Wentworth Falls Sam James
Staxton Duran Fentiman
Lexington Dash Sean Levey

Ayr Gold Cup betting

William Hill: 8-1 Nahaarr, Mr Lupton, 10 Stone Of Destiny, 12 Wise Counsel, Bielsa, Staxton, 14 Arecibo, Air Raid, 16 Another Batt, 18 Gulliver, 20 Spanish City, Hey Jonesy, Rayong, 22 Barbill, Lahore, Cold Stare, 25 Soldier's Minute, Major Jumbo, Lexington Dash, Kynren, Young Fire, 33 Wentworth Falls, 40 Bungee Jump, Gabrial The Wire, 80 Koropick