Australia, Japan and USA represented as 51 entries revealed for July Cup

Tuesday 17th May
Entries are unveiled on Tuesday for the Group One Darley July Cup at Newmarket (Saturday 9th July) with representation from Australia, Japan and the USA among the 51 hopefuls.
Staged over six furlongs and sponsored by Darley since 1996, the prestigious sprint is the highlight of Newmarket’s Moët & Chandon July Festival (Thursday 7th July to Saturday 9th July inclusive). The 2022 staging of the Darley July Cup offers record total prize money of £600,000 and it forms part of the QIPCO British Champions Series.
It is 22 years since Agnes World became the first Japanese-trained winner in the UK when landing the 2000 Darley July Cup. There could be further representation from Japan this year in King Hermes (Yoshito Yahagi). Successful in the Group Two Keio Hai Nisai Stakes at Tokyo in 2021, the three year was last seen when a close sixth in a blanket finish to the Group One NHK Mile Cup at the same venue on 8th May.
The Darley Cup has yet to go to Australia, with Choisir coming closest when runner-up to Oasis Dream in 2003. There are three entries from Down Under this year - Artorius (Anthony & Sam Freedman), Home Affairs (Chris Waller) and Nature Strip (Chris Waller). The trio are all Group One winners in their homeland and all look likely to make their UK debuts at Royal Ascot next month.
US-based trainer Wesley Ward has entered Campanelle, already a winner in the UK having taken the Group One Commonwealth Cup at Royal Ascot in 2021. The four year old made a successful return to action when taking the Listed Giant's Causeway Stakes at Keeneland in April.
There is a scratchings stage for the Darley July Cup on Tuesday 21st June with the five-day confirmation and £36,000 supplementary entry stage following on Monday 4th July.
Newmarket – Saturday 9th July
4:25pm Darley July Cup (Group 1) (British Champions Series) 6f
Alcohol Free (IRE) 4 Mr J. C. Smith Andrew Balding
Angel Bleu (FR) 3 Mr Marc Chan Ralph Beckett
Art Power (IRE) 5 King Power Racing Co Ltd Tim Easterby
Artorius (AUS) 4 Newgate, China Horse Club & Partners Anthony & Sam Freedman Australia
Blackrod 4 Mr David W. Armstrong Michael Dods
Cadamosto (IRE) 3 D.Smith,Mrs J.Magnier,M.Tabor,Westerberg Aidan O'Brien Ireland
Came From The Dark (IRE) 6 Mr P. K. Siu Ed Walker
Campanelle (IRE) 4 Stonestreet Stables LLC Wesley Ward USA
Castle Star (IRE) 3 Craig Bernick/Antony Beck Fozzy Stack Ireland
Caturra (IRE) 3 Mr Saeed Bin Mohammed Al Qassimi Clive Cox
Chil Chil 6 King Power Racing Co Ltd Andrew Balding
Creative Force (IRE) 4 Godolphin Charlie Appleby
Diligent Harry 4 The Dilinquents Clive Cox
Double Or Bubble (IRE) 5 Mr S Fustok Chris Wall
Dragon Symbol 4 Mr Yoshiro Kubota Roger Varian
Ejtilaab (IRE) 6 Mr Paul Wildes Charlie Fellowes
Emaraaty Ana 6 Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum Kevin Ryan
Flotus (IRE) 3 Mr Katsumi Yoshida Simon & Ed Crisford
Garrus (IRE) 6 Mrs Susan Roy Charles Hills
Glen Shiel 8 Hambleton Racing XXXVI & Partner Archie Watson
Great Ambassador 5 Ebury Racing 6 Ed Walker
Gustavus Weston (IRE) 6 Mr Alfred Sweetnam Joe Murphy Ireland
Happy Romance (IRE) 4 The McMurray Family Richard Hannon
Highfield Princess (FR) 5 Trainers House Enterprises Ltd John Quinn
Home Affairs (AUS) 4 Coolmore, Wynaus Et Al Chris Waller Australia
Khaadem (IRE) 6 Mrs Fitri Hay Charles Hills
King Hermes (JPN) 3 Hiroo Race Co. Ltd. Yoshito Yahagi Japan
King of Bavaria (IRE) 3 M Tabor/D Smith/Mrs J Magnier/Westerberg Aidan O'Brien Ireland
Kinross 5 Mr Marc Chan Ralph Beckett
Lusail (IRE) 3 Al Shaqab Racing Richard Hannon
Man of Promise (USA) 5 Godolphin Charlie Appleby
Minzaal (IRE) 4 Shadwell Estate Company Ltd Owen Burrows
Nahaarr (IRE) 6 Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum William Haggas
Nature Strip (AUS) 8 R. Lyons, P. Harrison, P. Kean Et al Chris Waller Australia
Naval Crown 4 Godolphin Charlie Appleby
New York City (IRE) 3 Westerberg/Mrs J Magnier/M Tabor/D Smith Aidan O'Brien Ireland
Perfect Power (IRE) 3 Sheikh Rashid Dalmook Al Maktoum Richard Fahey
Rizg 3 Mr Imad Alsagar Roger Varian
Romantic Proposal (IRE) 6 Clipper Logistics Group Ltd Edward Lynam Ireland
Royal Aclaim (IRE) 3 Sheikh Juma Dalmook Al Maktoum James Tate
Run To Freedom 4 Mr Godfrey Wilson Henry Candy
Sacred 4 Cheveley Park Stud William Haggas
Sam Maximus 3 John and Jess Dance James Horton
Space Cowboy (IRE) 3 Rebel Racing Premier IV Richard Spencer
Spycatcher (IRE) 4 Highclere T'BredRacing-Adriana Zaefferer Karl Burke
Tiber Flow (IRE) 3 Jon and Julia Aisbitt William Haggas
Twilight Jet (IRE) 3 M Iavarone/Julia Iavarone/M O'Callaghan Michael O'Callaghan Ireland
Umm Kulthum (IRE) 4 Mr Saeed Bin Mohammed Al Qassimi Richard Fahey
Vadream 4 Mr D. R. J. King Charlie Fellowes
Ventura Diamond (IRE) 4 Middleham Park Racing XXVIII Richard Fahey
Wings of War (IRE) 3 Isa Salman Al Khalifa Clive Cox
51 entries
7 Irish-trained
3 Australian-trained
1 Japanese-trained
1 USA-trained