VIEW ARCHIVES (4026 articles)

<< Back
Group 1 ambitions for the new Randwick track record holder
20 Oct 2012 | Inglis Media 

Trainer Kelly Schweida has Group 1 ambitions for lightly raced three-year-old Better Than Ready, which lowered Randwick’s 1200m track record to 1:08.19 in the Listed ATC Brian Crowley Stakes in Sydney on Saturday.


Better Than Ready(black and yellow) scorches to a new track record at Randwick, picture,au


Better Than Ready ($140,000 2011 Easter, 3c More Than Ready-Sally’s World) sat off a hot speed in the black type event before mowing down his rivals close to the post. The colt held a long neck margin on Group 2 winner Jolie Bay at the finish, with Brave Soul a further length away in third.

The previous Randwick 1200m track record was set by Widden Stud stallion Northern Meteor when winning the 2008 edition of the Brian Crowley Stakes in 1:08.32. The son of Encosta De Lago won the Group 1 VRC Coolmore Stud stakes at Flemington at his next start, a feat that Better Than Ready may attempt to emulate.

“The Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington is there in the back of our mind,” said Schweida, who would also like to aim higher for the Group 1 BRC Stradbroke Handicap back in his own state of Queensland next year.

“It [Stradbroke] is a race that has a good record for three-year-olds and it's a race I've always thought would suit him.

“He has always shown a lot and I think he could be the best I have trained.”

Bred by Ian Smith, who also bred Hong Kong Champion Sprinter Silent Witness, Better Than Ready (pictured) was purchased as Lot 28 by Schweida for $140,000 from the draft of Newgate Farm at the 2011 Inglis Australian Easter Yearling Sale.

Interestingly, the next yearling (Lot 29) offered after Better Than Ready at the 2011 Easter Sale was Group 1 MRC Blue Diamond Stakes winner Samaready, which is also by Vinery Stud’s outstanding stallion More Than Ready.



Better Than Ready, picture


Better Than Ready has won four of his six career starts and earned $160,000 for his owners Goldstar Thoroughbreds (Mgr: D C Hayes), J D Maclean, S Duselis, R J Zuttion, C R Frampton, D P Tynan, B P Tobin, A Salpietro & M A Tobin.


Photofinish ATC


©Copyright 2006 - 2017 Thoroughbred News.
All rights reserved
Development and Design by Web Element