Jamie Spencer joins list of top 20 Flat jockeys in Britain of all time

Jamie Spencer moved on to an elite leaderboard in turf history on Wednesday when Late Change's victory at Yarmouth propelled him into the top 20 winningmost Flat jockeys in Britain of all time.

Spencer, whose key victory came on the David Simcock-trained three-year-old in the 7f fillies' handicap, was recording his 2,069th winner in his adopted nation, and with it he edged Billy Nevett out of the top 20.

Spencer joins Frankie Dettori, Joe Fanning and Ryan Moore as those still riding in the top 20, which features legends such as Sir Gordon Richard, Fred Archer, Pat Eddery, Lester Piggott and Willie Carson.

Also among the proud members of a select club are Joe Mercer, Kieren Fallon and Richard Hughes.

Spencer said: "When I got to 2,000, I didn't know about it until the day before, so it's not something I pay a lot of attention to as it's just another number really.

"That said, it's a nice feeling to reach these various milestones and hopefully I can add a few more winners before it's all done."

Spencer's achievement is the latest landmark in a stellar career of one of the weighing room's most naturally gifted operators.

He became something over an overnight sensation when winning the Irish 1,000 Guineas on Tarascon at the tender age of 17 in 1998.

A champion jockey on both sides of the Irish Sea whose father George trained 1963 Champion Hurdle hero Winning Fair, he won the St Leger on Brian Boru and steered Sariska to victory in the Oaks six years later, adding the Irish equivalent to his CV on the filly as well.

His Royal Ascot haul includes a Gold Cup on Fame And Glory in 2011, while top-flight success overseas has come in the United States, UAE, France, Australia, Germany, Singapore and Canada.

The 38-year-old has inevitably had the odd bump on the career road, and in 2014 he shocked the sport when announcing he would retire at the end of that year, only to perform a u-turn four months later.

Top 20 jockeys by Flat wins in UK

 WinsFirst/last wins
Sir Gordon Richards 4870 1921/1954
Pat Eddery 4633 1969/2003
Lester Piggott 4493 1948/1994
Willie Carson 3828 1962/1996
Frankie Dettori 3131 1987- 
Doug Smith 3111 1932/1967
Joe Mercer 2810 1950/1985
Fred Archer 2748 1870/1886
Edward Hide 2593 1951/1993
George Fordham 2587 1851/1883
Kieren Fallon 2578 1988/2016
George Duffield 2547 1967/2004
Kevin Darley 2450 1977/2007
Richard Hughes 2428 1994/2015
Joe Fanning 2349 1990- 
Eph Smith 2312 1930/1965
Richard Quinn 2234 1981/2008
Scobie Breasley 2161 1950/1968
Ryan Moore 2117 2000- 
Jamie Spencer 2069 1998-